Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation Adds 15 Treatment Sites to Its Care Center Network

Patrícia Silva, PhD avatar

by Patrícia Silva, PhD |

Share this article:

Share article via email
PFF Care Center Network

The Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation (PFF) has added 15 treatment sites to its nationwide Care Center Network (CCN) — including one each in Wisconsin and Iowa, states which previously did not have centers with recognized expertise in diagnosing and treating pulmonary fibrosis patients.

“As the leading resource for the pulmonary fibrosis community, the Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation is committed to developing new tools and support to help ensure patients receive a swift and accurate diagnosis along with the highest quality of care,” Gregory Cosgrove, chief medical officer for the PFF, said in a press release.

“The launch of our 15 new Care Center Network sites provides crucial resources for care along with an infrastructure that facilitates research toward a cure,” he added. Their addition raises the total to 60 such centers in 30 U.S. states.

Care centers are marked by the use of a multidisciplinary approach to PF patient care. Experts in pulmonary medicine, rheumatology, radiology, pathology, and nursing specializing in interstitial lung disease comprise the care team at each recognized center, the foundation says on a dedicated webpage.

The 15 centers now part of CCN are:

Care at centers in this network also assist patients with continuing care, help in obtaining social services, joining support groups (for patients and caregivers) and in possibly participating in clinical trials and research studies.

More than 200,000 Americans are thought to live with pulmonary fibrosis in the United States, according to PFF.

The network began with the recognition of nine care centers in 2013.


Your PF Community

Woman laying down reading

Visit the Pulmonary Fibrosis News forums to connect with others in the PF community.

View Forums