• Posted by Terry on February 3, 2020 at 12:26 pm

Hi All,

I am the son-in-law of a 72 year old military veteran who is in the process of being diagnosed.  He was originally admitted to the hospital with suspected pneumonia, but a bronchoscopy was performed and the doctors are now suspecting interstitial lung disease due to the scarring in his lungs.  Unfortunately, he had a PET scan 2 years ago – and he VA doctors noticed a small “haziness” in his lungs but said it wasn’t anything to worry about.  My in-laws typically do not question doctors or ask for second opinions, so they took that at face value and didn’t think anything of it until recently.

Although a diagnosis has not be “confirmed”, my assumption is that due to his symptoms “suspected” will soon be confirmed.  He is currently “OK”, but is on supplemental oxygen with numbers in the 90’s, but any exertion off oxygen drops his numbers in to the 70’s (and I apologize, as I am new to the numbers and may not be explaining them correctly).  He is also having issues urinating, which I am assuming may be somehow related.

I am looking for any pertinent questions that would be crucial to ask the doctor in this initial diagnosis phase.  My wife and mother-in-law are not the most thorough for lack of a better word and don’t really know what to ask other than “Is he going to die in 3-5 years, will he need to be on oxygen the rest of his life, etc. etc.”.  I did try the Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation website as suggested in another thread, but couldn’t locate the FAQ section for some reason.  If anyone can provide a direct link, or some questions they know to ask as a result of their experience, it would be GREATLY appreciated!  Thank you!

Terry

Karen Martin replied 4 years, 2 months ago 2 Members · 2 Replies
  • 2 Replies
  • Mark Koziol

February 3, 2020 at 12:54 pm

@tjndnd