Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Fun and General Chat Healthy Recipe Sharing “The Magic Pill” : Documentary on Healthy Eating

• “The Magic Pill” : Documentary on Healthy Eating

Posted by Charlene Marshall on May 22, 2019 at 7:56 am

Healthy eating has been a popular discussion topic among our forums since their inception over a year ago now. It seems to be a very important topic among our members, and both myself and my co-columnist MarK Koziol believe in the importance of a healthy diet for those living with idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (IPF). With all the information available online about healthy eating, including which “fad diets” to follow (or not follow), along with how food can help our bodies while living with a chronic illness; it can be difficult to know where to turn to for credible information.

While I am no expert by any means, I do like to watch various documentaries and television shows on various approaches to healthy eating. I also enjoy listening to pod casts about this topic, especially during long drives in the car!

A popular fad diet at the moment is the ketogenic diet. While I don’t abide by this fully, I do eat low/minimal carb and almost entirely sugar-free. Unfortunately, I struggle to digest the high fats of the ketogenic diet, even if they are healthy fats. Side note: for anyone who may suffer from a heart condition either linked directly to IPF, or unrelated, always check with your doctor before trying the ketogenic diet. The required consumption of good fats, even though they are healthy for us, can be damaging for those living with cardiac disease, or so I’ve heard. That being said, I am interested in learning more about this low carb, high good-fats (LCHF) lifestyle, as I know many people who have benefitted from adapting to this kind of eating.