Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge Singing to Improve Lung Health.

• mike-sturgill

April 26, 2018 at 4:48 pm

I’ve been singing in school or church for 45 years. I  was finally diagnosed just last month after a sudden onset of shortness of breath beginning in mid December. Initially I was struggling to breathe so much, I was sure I’d never sing again . Of all the disappointment that comes with IPF, that hit me hard. I get great, great joy from worshipping with the music team at my church every week.
    I began trying to sing again (in the car, radio cranked) and have been able to slowly adjust my breathing technique to get through a song.

Singing raises my spirits, gives me joy and let’s others around me know I’m not giving up the fight.

• Charlene Marshall

April 27, 2018 at 11:42 am

Hi Mike,

Thank you for joining the PF forums and contributing to this thread. I am so sorry to hear of your diagnosis, and sudden onset of shortness of breath. Do you suspect you’ve had IPF for awhile, based on your symptoms?

I can relate to you about the painful losses that come with this diagnosis. For me, that was playing hockey. I am glad you started singing in the car and hopefully strengthening your breathing capacity a little bit. Do you find it easier to do while sitting vs. standing in worship? I am so glad you are still able to do this and will pray that your lungs get stronger, and that you can return to singing with your music team. It is so important for us to hang onto things that bring us joy!

Warm regards,
      Charlene

• mike-sturgill

April 27, 2018 at 2:50 pm

Charlene,