Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge Christie Patient Joins Forum Moderator Team

• Christie Patient Joins Forum Moderator Team

Posted by Christie Patient on March 9, 2021 at 4:17 pm

[caption id="attachment_27649" align="alignnone" width="2560"] Holly Patient (left) and Christie Patient DuBois, photo by Hannah Falk[/caption]

Greetings PF Forum participants! I am your newest forums moderator. I’m excited to work with my friend Charlene to help keep the conversation flowing and support this community. Some of you may be familiar with my column “Courage to Care”. I have been writing the column for almost two years now, and am excited to get more involved with readers and community members here in the forums.  

If you have not read my column before, I’d like to introduce myself and tell a bit of my story here.  

My mom Holly was referred to the pulmonology team at the University of San Francisco California (UCSF) after several years of worsening pulmonary symptoms. They went through a number of potential diagnoses before landing on IPF in the summer of 2019. My mom started using supplemental oxygen to improve her quality of life, but it would not be long before an acute exacerbation brought her to a crux that would change all of our lives. 

She had been waiting for the right time to tell me about what her diagnosis would mean, and that a lung transplant might be part of her story eventually. Instead of doing things on her time, IPF had its own plans.