• Posted by John on July 30, 2020 at 11:05 am

Greetings all. I’m a newbie trying to better understand IPF and this blog has been a valuable resource for that. I was hospitalized for five weeks in December and January with blood clots in my lungs and IPF. My question has to do with my diagnosis. Although I have confidence in my pulmonologist and her diagnosis, I do have a few niggling doubts; perhaps those doubts are mostly based on wishful thinking—a hope that the diagnosis is incorrect. Anyway, here are some things that confuse me. One thing that puzzles me is the progress I have made! I understand that IPF is a progressive disease (not in a good way) and yet I feel a lot better—less shortness of breath, need for oxygen. Why am I feeling better, rather than worse? My guess is that it is because some or all of the blood clots have dissolved.

The usual list of IPF symptoms I’ve found are inconclusive.  A dry cough is always mentioned, but I don’t have that.  Clubbing is another symptom I lack. I do have fatigue, but I’ve had that for years. I’m grateful for my modest 10 pound weight loss and it has occurred without a loss of appetite. As mentioned, I do have shortness of breath, but it’s improving. It’s perhaps more meaningful that I have had leg swelling for about 3 years. Is it just that different IPF patients have different symptoms, and that they occur at different points in the course of the disease?

I had a CT scan in March which found: “Bullous emphysema with peripheral honeycombing and bronchiectasis. No active pulmonary disease.” It would be nice to think that “no active pulmonary disease” means that the IPF was gone, but I guess it just means that for the moment the IPF is stable, not worsening. But then again, why is there is no mention of IPF?