Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge How coughing has affected my singing voice

• How coughing has affected my singing voice

Posted by allan-reinap on October 28, 2022 at 11:36 am

Hi everyone,

I’ve been dealing with IPF for about 2 years now but it’s been about a year or more since the coughing has seriously affected my “talking” voice and more so, my singing voice.  I have been playing guitar and singing for 50 years now.  Even given the acknowledgement of my age, I have lost my ability to sing the songs I have sung over the years.  I know it’s the cough that has worn out my vocal chords.  I always keep water nearby when I find myself wanting to speak, especially when I’ve been quiet for so long.  A sip of water helps for the immediate words spoken – sometimes lasts a while, other times not.  There are times when I can keep a conversation going, but many times I have to sip or as soon as I try to speak, I cough.  It’s a dry cough. Very frustrating.

I’m hear to ask for any ideas or thoughts about this.  Losing my singing voice has been so traumatic for me I don’t speak to anyone about it.  I know I’ll just lose it if I begin to speak about it.  Any thoughts or questions about this would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks

linda-del-degan replied 1 year, 4 months ago 5 Members · 6 Replies
  • 6 Replies
  • allan-reinap

October 29, 2022 at 9:15 am

Edit: I’m here to ask….

• lou-body-iv

November 1, 2022 at 3:15 pm

Allen:

I play the Dobro and piano and sing as much as I can with my cough. I’m a bluegrass junkie. It’s tougher than it used to be but a menthol cough drop or two or three usually helps. Singing and playing exercises the lungs and that, I’m told, is a good thing. I’m frustrated, like you, but I refuse to let my guard down and stop the music. If you are singing to people, or in a group, let them know, in advance, that you have a few lung issues. They’ll forgive you. Just keep having fun doing the best you can. Lou

• allan-reinap