Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge 2nd opinion at Cleveland Clinic

Tagged: 

• 2nd opinion at Cleveland Clinic

Posted by ping-xu on July 13, 2021 at 8:49 pm

I am new to the PF forum. I was diagnosed with IPF by the pulmonologist at the COE locally in June and thought of getting a second opinion at Cleveland Clinic. I requested an appointment from the Cleveland Clinic website a month ago before my local COE pulmonologist did any test. I just received a phone call that scheduled me to see a doctor at Cleveland Clinic at the end of the month. There was no appointment for any additional testing or procedure, only the doctor’s appointment. I looked up the doctor’s name and found that she is a first year fellow. For those of you who sees doctors at Cleveland Clinic, is it typical to be scheduled with a fellow? I am out of state and will have to drive five hours to Cleveland for this visit. Could I ask to see a more experienced doctor? Or ask to see a specific doctor?

Previously I have asked my PCP to send my chest x-ray and HRCT images to Cleveland Clinic, which they probably have received. But I just asked my local COE to send my medical records including bronchoscopy, blood work, pulmonary function test, etc, to Cleveland Clinic and I doubt they have received it. Is it typical that a second opinion involves just a doctor’s visit without any further testing?

If you had sought a second opinion at Cleveland Clinic, or other big centers, could you please share your experience? Thank you very much.

pokerdave replied 2 years, 7 months ago 9 Members · 14 Replies
  • 14 Replies
  • craig-klopfleisch

July 15, 2021 at 4:19 pm

@pingxu0713