Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge When is anti fibrotic prescribed by the physician?

• When is anti fibrotic prescribed by the physician?

Posted by Kris manian on March 16, 2022 at 9:42 am

I am diagnosed with IDL in the past couple of weeks. But my physician started off with immune suppression and non inflammatory drugs. No anti. Fibrotic medicines yet, even though I asked for it.
    she says only after stabilizing anti fibrotic scan be given.
    is this true?

thanks

Linda Maguire replied 2 years, 1 month ago 6 Members · 15 Replies
  • 15 Replies
  • Christie Patient

March 17, 2022 at 11:39 pm

Hi Kris, I’m not a doctor, but that sounds like a reasonable place to start to me, especially if your diagnosis is non-specific ILD. If you are diagnosed definitively with PF/IPF, then anti-fibrotics should certainly be in the discussion. There are many types of ILDs that may not benefit from them, however. Your doctor should be able to answer those types of questions, but if your gut says otherwise, definitely get a second opinion. Docs aren’t perfect 🙂

• Donald Salzberg MD

March 18, 2022 at 9:10 am

Dear Kris:

I do agree with what Christine said in her reply. I’m a physician (retired Ophthalmologist) but I’ve continued to learn about IPF/ILDs. A high-definition CT can show a classic pattern c/w IPF. My case was not classic so initially my diagnosis was HP (hypersensitivity pneumonitis). That proposed therapy (steroids) was very different than IPF so I asked for the VATS lung biopsy which showed I had IPF and not HP. The only truly approved meds for IPF are the anti-fibrotic meds (OFEV & Perfenidone). I don’t agree that you need to “stabilize the IPF” before one starts anti-fibrotic therapy but you need to have a definitive diagnosis of IPF to subject yourself to these meds.