• Symptons of UIP

Posted by momo on October 31, 2023 at 5:53 am

This is my first attempt so not sure if it will register on this forum, this is a test to see if iam doing it right iam not the best at technology so i apologise in advance. Without going into too much detail iam experiancing aches in joints and muscles , how are people treating this side effect of fibrosis and what medications help relive the pain aspect . Thank you

Meredith replied 9 months, 3 weeks ago 9 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • don-moffett

October 31, 2023 at 2:08 pm

I am 72 years old with IPF taking OFEV. I have muscle aches and pains primarily when I am not active. Do to some side affects I just sit around, read and watch TV, and it is absolutely the worst thing I can do. I got past that phase and make myself walk, do things around the house, most important be active.

• Merle Sweet

October 31, 2023 at 2:30 pm

I am replying because I immediately saw “Symptoms UIP” in your heading. I am an 80 year-old male who was diagnosed with UIP in 2014 and have progressed downward over the nine years to the point I am now on supplemental oxygen full time because any exertion renders me breathless and produces substantial pressure across my entire chest. A few months ago my pulmonary doc suggested I begin palliative care. From the relationship with my palliative care doc I am now taking 5 mL of liquid morphine four times daily with the goal being to better tolerate exertion (any walking, dressing, eating, talking). The morphine has given me a sense of peace, but has not provided any help for exertion. Although I have had a living will on file for many years I have now agreed to wear a Do Not Resuscitate bracelet to notify providers if I have lung or heart issues. I will accept help from providers for any non-lung and non-heart medical issues like falling or wounds.

Since I seldom see anyone with UIP write to this site I am now hoping to hear from others whose diagnosis is specifically UIP.