Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Lung Transplantation Working after transplant

• Working after transplant

Posted by Jill on April 9, 2021 at 2:09 pm
    • Hi! I’m wondering how many of you who have had transplant(s) were able to go back to work if you wanted to? And if you were too disabled to return to work, what stopped you? What made you unable to work? Thanks!
    Christie Patient replied 2 years, 12 months ago 6 Members · 10 Replies
  • 10 Replies
  • David Ota

April 13, 2021 at 3:53 pm

@jillgerber4gmail-com

Hi Jill

I had a double lung transplant May 31, 2016 after 5 years with IPF.  I work as an IT professional, I was traveling quite a bit before IPF 10-20 trips a year.  I was is decent ‘IPF’ health in May of 2016.  I worked right up to the day I got the call from the hospital.  After the transplant, I was out for 5 months healing and getting my strength back.  I went back to work full time in Oct 2016.  Because I’m an old IT professional, I sit on my behind most of my day.  I have been working from home for almost 10 years now.  My employer allowed me quite a bit of leeway on work-from-home.  I’m almost 5 years with the transplant now.  I was diagnosed with chronic rejection last year, just before COVID showed up.  I am more tired now. As a work-from-home professional I have been able to work without many issues.  If I had a more physical or less understanding employer, working would be harder for me.  Some of the issues over the years:

1. Travel during the cold and flu season (now Covid)

2. Stomach issues, stomach ache, diarrhea.  My drug regimen has been pretty stable, but periodically I can get very bad stomach aches and diarrhea.

3. Nebulizer treatments.  At the start, after the transplant I was doing a home nebulizer treatment 3 times a day for 45 minutes.  That would be pretty disruptive for work.  Those stopped in my 1st 12 weeks after transplant.

4. Memory loss.  I have a pretty hard time remembering things these days.