• Posted by sreelekshmy on April 6, 2021 at 4:27 pm

Hi,

I am diagnosed with IPF in January 2021 and started taking Ofer in March; so far tolerating it well. I am not on Oxygen. I walk regularly and can see that my pace is decreasing to keep the Oxygen saturation above 98.I would like to know what else I need to do other than of every to minimize my symptoms and increase lung efficiency. I read that recently FDA has approved Tyvaso which can increase e exercise quality in IPF patients. Has anyone tried or planning to try this? I read about Wei institute; does that really help? What about pulmonary rehabilitation? Is that useful? Sorry I am new to this disease and have so many questions. I am 48 and my mother also had IPF

thanks,

sree

sally-williams replied 2 years, 11 months ago 7 Members · 19 Replies
  • 19 Replies
  • sreelekshmy

April 6, 2021 at 4:28 pm

Sorry to keep the oxygen saturation above 88

• christie

April 6, 2021 at 7:03 pm

Hi @sree, welcome to the PF forums. You have a lot of good questions, which you should never feel the need to apologize for. That’s what we’re here for! You can find information on by using the search function on the forum’s homepage (top right). People have been discussing the Wei institute recently, check out the linked topic.

And the short answer to the rehab question is, yes! That does help. You may need a prescription from your doctor to get connected with a rehab therapist, but in the meantime, there are many resources to help you learn rehab breathing exercises available online. People have discussed rehab at length in the forums here too (try out that search bar 🙂 ). Regular exercise is important, so keep walking as much as you can.

Based on a quick search I see that @6yearvet Ben has used the TYVASO treatment and may be able to answer some questions for you.

Let me or @charlene-marshall know if you need help using the forums.

Christie

• ben-robinson

April 6, 2021 at 7:17 pm

Hi Christie