Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Healthcare Questions Low oxygen because I don’t like what it does for my stamina.

• Low oxygen because I don’t like what it does for my stamina.

Posted by Harry Harrington on September 15, 2023 at 6:20 pm

I was put on oxygen four years ago. I noticed when I did air that my stamina was down. I laid off air unless I really needed it. My new put me on 5liters. This has drained my ability to do things.

My question is exactly what am I doing by not following Drs. Instructions. Will my low oxygen cause more destruction? I have been fighting it for 10 years.

John Fraze replied 1 week, 2 days ago 5 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Steve McLean

September 19, 2023 at 2:17 pm

Certainly not a doctor but 5lpm is high enough to indicate o2 saturation can get pretty low. That is low enough to be suspicious that without supplemental oxygen your stamina will continue to get lower

• John Fraze

April 23, 2024 at 2:55 pm

There is such a thing as oxygen toxicity. Too much oxygen is as bad as not enough. You can google it you may be astonished. I recommend that you ask your doctor to do an overnight test to determine just how much oxygen you actually need.

• Maria Donihoo

September 19, 2023 at 2:32 pm

Hello Harry!