Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge New to this forum and kind of confused

• New to this forum and kind of confused

Posted by Donna Wargas on March 22, 2021 at 4:32 pm

I  went in for a former smoker screening CT. All I have is mild occasional wheezing. CT says mild scattered scarring.  The pulmonary doctor says my pulmonary study only shows mild airflow obstruction. My pulmonologist never said the word Fibrosis or spoke of progression or mortality. He just said come back in 6 months for another CT.  He did say stay off the internet. So confused and anxiety is overwhelming. Not sure what to do next. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Christie Patient replied 3 years ago 8 Members · 12 Replies
  • 12 Replies
  • Jonathan Poland

March 23, 2021 at 3:16 pm

@dmwargas

Hi Donna,

I feel your frustration!  I find very few doctors who are willing to spend time explaining everything at a patient’s level of understanding.  And I’m not a doctor so take my comments for what they are worth.  But your feelings of uncertainty, etc. are common for nearly everyone who has this news thrust on them for the first time.

But let’s start with the good news:

– No tumors or signs of lung cancer that is often associated with smoking!  That should be a big relief.

– The airflow obstruction is MILD.  I interpret that to mean that your doctor is watching for COPD but that it hasn’t become severe enough to require treatment (yet).

– I am curious if he said more about the “mild scattered scarring”.  That could mean lots of things.  Did he describe the scarring pattern with terms such as “crazy paving”, “ground glass”,  “honey-combing”, or other odd terms?  They describe how the scarring looks on a CT scan.   Lack of those terms suggests that he is not concerned about any of the worse types of fibrosis.  It also means that whatever you “might” have is very early on.