Pulmonary Fibrosis News Forums Forums Welcome Lounge Possible Cause of IPF – Ammonia ingestion and Statin?? Progressive?

• Possible Cause of IPF – Ammonia ingestion and Statin?? Progressive?

Posted by cecil-zlotnick on February 3, 2022 at 1:48 pm

Hi All,

I’m very new to IPF.  Discovered in November from a CT scan after a bout of pneumonia.  I have approximately 70% lung function.  I feel good, no shortness of breathe and since November I’m walking 3km per day without adverse effect.  Over the last 4 months, I’ve lost 12kg by dieting.

I’ve been racking my brain about the source of the disease.  Possible causes sprang to mind:-

Ammonia ingestion – isolated incident and possible side effect of a statin.  Any opinions? Is it progressive? I do not have an autoimmune disease.

Now my pulmonologist wants me to start antifibrotic treatment.  I’m terrified of the side effects.  Any suggestions would be very welcome.

christine-mccann replied 2 years ago 14 Members · 28 Replies
  • 28 Replies
  • duncan-fowler

February 3, 2022 at 2:32 pm

I have wondered about that too and actually bought a mask and filters so I can clean our oven.

But I have also used “Wet and Forget” and wondered if that may have caused some of my issues. I do think that my real problem started when I was a volunteer fireman and smoked, But the fireman part of my life was in my late teens and early 20’s. I stopped smoking in 1981. I noticed my shortness of breath when I was not able to swim lengths of a pool anymore. That was about 10 years ago.

Definitely start taking the anti-fibrotics your Dr is suggesting. (There are only 2 available now)
    They will add years to your life!
    There are only 2 on the market now. You can deal with the side effects if it means you get to live longer.

• ronald-cole

February 3, 2022 at 8:41 pm

Hello Duncan,